Concealed Carry Information

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Kansas law allows citizens to be licensed to carry concealed handguns, pistols or revolvers under the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act (K.S.A. 75-7c01 - 75-7c26).

Kansas Concealed Carry Requirements:

  • Be a U.S. citizen and a Kansas resident for at least 6 months prior to the application
  • Be 21 years old
  • Reside in the county where applying
  • Pass an approved 8-hour training course
  • Do not have a disqualifying criminal offense conviction, diversion or adjudication (for a list of disqualifying criminal offense and other disqualifying factors, see the Kansas Attorney General's FAQ section)

To apply:

  1. Fully complete a Kansas Application for Concealed Carry Handgun License and Qualifying Information which is available at the Harvey County Sheriff's Department or print the form from the Kansas Attorney General's Concealed Carry website. You must attach a passport-style photograph of yourself on the second page of the form where indicated.
  2. Get fingerprinted by the Harvey County Detention Center, 800 N Main. The Detention Center will provide the fingerprint card needed to be used. Fingerprints can be taken 24 hours a day, but you may have to wait depending on how busy the Detention Center staff is at the time you arrive.
  3. Obtain two money orders, cashier's checks or personal checks. The first must be made payable to the Office of the Attorney General for $100 ($50 if retired law enforcement) and the second must be made payable to the Sheriff of Harvey County for $32.50 ($25 if retired law enforcement). All fees submitted are nonrefundable.

Once you have completed these three steps, bring the application, fingerprint card, the two money orders, cashier's checks or personal checks, your Kansas Driver's License or ID Card (active duty military personnel may have out of state identification, see the Attorney General website for more information) and course completion sheet for the 8 hour approved training course to the Harvey County Sheriff's Department, 120 E 7th, to complete the application process.

Appropriate Signage to Restrict Concealed Carry Handguns

The authorized sign to restrict concealed carry from a property

Concealed handguns may be prohibited on certain properties by placing appropriate signage in a visible location at the entry of the premises (as seen in the picture). For more information about the appropriate signage, visit the Kansas Attorney General's website.  Additionally, certain buildings, such as federal buildings, post offices, and tribal or federal lands in Kansas are not required to have signage due to federal law prohibiting the possession of firearms on most federal property. If you have questions on where concealed carry handguns may be possessed, see K.S.A 75-7c10, K.S.A 75-7c11, and the Kansas Attorney General's list of Other Prohibited Places.


Other States

Having a Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun License does not mean other states have to recognize the Kansas license. Prior to traveling out of state, check with the state(s) you are visiting to see whether they recognize Kansas permits and to learn the different laws about where in the state you can carry your handgun. For a list of states that recognize Kansas Conceal Carry Handgun Licenses, see the Kansas Attorney General's current list.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer